Skip to content

So This Guy Walks Into My Poem

April 20, 2011

 So This Guy Walks Into My Poem

My poem was flowing smoothly.
Had developed a certain rhythm, a momentum,
The words rang in the air
chimed melodies that enticed listeners
described for readers the beauty around….

and then this guy walked into my poem.

Inadvertent as it was, it was disconcerting.
We tried to usher him out.
We told him we were not open yet.
Explained he could find a cup of coffee
in the café of the author down the street.
But he lingered
and my thoughts clung to him
my words no longer flowed smoothly
but riveted attention on his presence.
Beauty turned somber
life’s twist having interfered,
fashioned the verse.

Now all there is – is conflict
certainty gone
the landscaped marred
my pen ill at ease
all this, the night

this guy walked into my poem.

Ray Brown

Consider purchasing my book of poems, “I Have His Letters Still” – Poetry of Everyday Life ($11.95).  Available on Amazon at http://tinyurl.com/RayBrownAmazon or purchase an autographed copy at http://poet-ray-brown.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 9:07 pm

    I really enjoyed this verse…and the whole concept that you’ve presentd. Thanks.

    • Ray Brown permalink*
      February 1, 2010 12:20 am

      Thank you for reading and your comments. I was mesmerized by the thoughts that came to me when I was drafting this. I am appreciative that it appealed to you.

Leave a Reply

